Coronavirus: New York imposes quarantine on eight US states


USA – New York, Connecticut and New Jersey have asked people traveling from states where Covid-19 cases are rising to go into self-isolation for 14 days.

New Jersey’s Phil Murphy said people in these three states had been “through hell and back” and did not want “another round” of virus infections.

Some Western and Southern states have been reporting record numbers of cases.

The University of Washington has predicted 180,000 US deaths by October – or 146,000 if 95% of Americans wear masks.

The US has recorded over 2.3 million cases of the virus and more than 121,000 deaths.

Health officials have warned that the coming weeks will be crucial to stem the outbreaks.

Currently, states that are subject to quarantine are Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Caroline, Texas, and Utah, said the governor of New York State Andrew Cuomo.

People coming from those states- including returning to New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut residents – will be required to quarantine upon arrival for 14 days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *